Happy New Year!

2016 has finally arrived!  If you’re like millions of Americans, you’ve probably at least thought about setting a New Year’s Resolution. If you choose to do so, the Library has tons of resources available to help you reach your goals, including books, movies, databases, and online classes.  Just visit our website to start your search, or stop by the library for more information.

Health is often a big focus for the new year.  If you’d like to dip your toe into yoga, the Library has a great beginning yoga class every month. The next class is on January 9th at 10:30 am. Come dressed in comfy clothes and bring an exercise mat if you have one. We also have some great DVDs that you can borrow to start exercising at home, and wonderful cookbooks full of delicious, healthy recipes that you’re welcomed to try.

Those who’d like to give back to the community in the coming year are invited to volunteer at the Library and with the Friends of the Library – San Lorenzo Area. Our adult and teen library volunteers help with programs and displays, while volunteers with the Friends help raise money and advocate for library services.  Stop by the library for more information about volunteering opportunities, and visit the Friends website to learn more about how you can help.  The Friends meet at the library the 4th Monday of every month.

I asked the San Lorenzo Library staff what their resolutions for 2016 were. Here are their answers:

Jenny (Library Clerk): I will manifest creativity.

Diana (Librarian): I would like to meet the poet Richard Wilbur (age 92) or meet novelist Haruki Murakami.

Yvonne (Library Page): To find myself and what truly makes me happy.

Lorrane (Lead Library Clerk): I don’t make resolutions – you can’t improve on perfection!

Andre (Library Page): Wake up early.

Fily (Library Clerk): Pay attention to my health.

Tamecca (Librarian): To continue going to the gym and watch my diet.

Kit (Homework Central Coordinator): Save more money.

DeJana (Security Guard): Be a better person and accomplish more goals.

Natali (Library Page): I want to fit in my old clothes, and take my son to Disneyland.

Jordan (Library Page): I don’t wait for the new year, I just do it.

Danielle (Library Manager): Now that I’m healed, I’ll be getting back to the gym and renewing my focus on my health.

Leave a Reply

