Try an Audiobook!

Over the last year I have fallen in love with audiobooks.  It all started when I had to read fifty books for a teen literature class.  I’m not the fastest reader, so I found that I could be more efficient by “reading” audiobooks while commuting.  Immediately I became a sucker for Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series, narrated by Ilyana Kadushin.  I’ve listened to all three books now, and with a fourth scheduled for late 2008 there’s no question that I’ll be listening to it, rather than reading – I can’t go back!

Sometimes I listen to titles that I wouldn’t normally take the time to actually read.  This is how I found John Grogan’s Marley and Me, narrated by Johnny Heller, which I ended up enjoying very much.  

If the weather is dark and gloomy, I often like to choose an audiobook that fits the mood.  Some great titles for this include Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, narrated by Bianca Amato and Jill Tanner, and Gregory Maguire’s Wicked, narrated by John McDonough. 

In the world of audiobooks, the narrator can make or break your experience.  Recently I’ve discovered one narrator in particular that I absolutely adore:  Jeff Woodman.  So far I’ve listened to his narration of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, by Mark Haddon, and An Abundance of Katherines and Looking for Alaska, both by John Green.  Jeff Woodman is a master of accents, a talented storyteller, and he captures each character perfectly.  I intend to listen to many more of his narrations.

Audiobooks could never replace “real” books for me – listening to a book is a completely different experience than actually reading one.  But they are certainly an entertaining and convenient alternative.  Try one!

Leave a Reply

